Breakdancing and Banana Nut Bread

What do you do when it’s rainy and gloomy out? Why breakdance and bake banana nut bread of course! I know I’ve promised a weekly NJ Farm visit on my days off, but for the past two weeks the weather has been absolutely uncooperative. It’s been rainy, misty, cloudy, and just plain depressing. Even my cat Rony is feeling it.

So today I threw on my favorite 80’s breakdancing movie of all time, Beat Street, and made some delicious banana nut bread. The best thing about banana nut bread, besides eating it, is the smell it leaves in your house. Even the hallways have filled with it’s sweet aroma. I’m surprised my neighbors aren’t busting down my door yet. I’ve adapted this recipe from FoodNetwork.com. I like to use brown sugar in my baking so I’ve used a mixture of both brown and white. I also added good quality vanilla extract and walnuts. Walnuts are a must for me in cakes and cookies.

Preheat your oven to 325ºF. In a small bowl mash the bananas, milk, and cinnamon. Don’t worry about making it totally smooth. Small chunks of banana are ok. In a small bowl combine flour, baking powder and soda, and salt.

In a medium bowl cream the sugars and butter. Beat in the eggs one at a time until combined. Add the vanilla extract. Beat in banana mixture, then the walnuts.

Finally, add the flour in two batches and beat until just combined. Pour into a greased 9x5x3 inch loaf pan and bake for 1 hour or until a toothpick comes out clean. I like to use a piece of dry spaghetti.

Cool the banana bread slightly, then remove from loaf pan and cool on a rack. While it cools have a spaghetti sword fight with your boyfriend, then cut a slice, spread on some butter and enjoy. That’s my style.

Ingredients

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 stick unsalted butter (room temp)
2 large eggs
1t vanilla extract
3 ripe bananas
1T milk
1t ground cinnamon
2 cups all purpose flour
1t baking powder
1t baking soda
1t salt
1 cup walnuts (chopped and toasted)

Leave a Reply

