Breakfast of Champs

Here is a simple breakfast I like to make for myself that’s quick and easy.

Eggs are my number one choice for breakfast, or any meal for that matter. The rich and creamy yolk especially. I top off this simple hash with an over easy or poached egg.

The hash consists of red onion, green bell pepper, potato, sweet potato, and thyme. I cut the potatoes and vegetables into small cubes. The onions and peppers are sautéed in a bit of olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. I saute the potatoes and sweet potatoes separately, in oil and butter until tender on the inside and crispy and golden on the outside, and season with salt and pepper. I combine the potatoes, peppers and onions in the pan to reheat, adjust seasoning, and add a sprig or two worth of thyme leaves. This recipe works with just about any vegetable, with only one kind of potato, or with any other variation of your choice. Every now and then I spoil myself by adding some bacon. I like to use red bell pepper also, and cauliflower goes surprisingly well with egg.

My breakfast isn’t complete without coffee. I make a cold brewed iced coffee, compliments of Ree Drummond’s (The Pioneer Woman) recipe. The recipe makes a lot of coffee and keeps for weeks. It’s a great money saver if you’re an avid coffee drinker like me. Not to mention it’s delish!

Leave a Reply

