Newark Farm Fresh


A while back I started this search for good farms/markets in my area in the hopes of finding quality produce, supporting my local farmers, and spreading the word on NJ farms. I’ve visited a few in the last couple of months, like Melick’s Town Farm (pictured above) in Bridgewater, NJ. But today I wanted to tell you about a farmer’s market right in my hometown of Newark.

This farmer’s market is literally across the street from me, but for whatever reason I had never gone to check it out until a couple of weeks ago. It takes place every Thursday between June and October from 11:00 to 3:00. It turns out they’ve got a lot to offer. Although it’s a relatively small market with only two fruit and veggie vendors, they have a large variety of seasonal produce, as well as vendors selling spices, nuts, some prepared foods, the most delicious hand popped kettle corn and live music.

I got to talking with the largest vendor there, Matarazzo Farms. I was very impressed by their offerings: different varieties of bright red, super plump tomatoes including heirlooms, honeydew and watermelons, lettuces, potatoes, carrots, radishes, cucumbers, the most adorable little sugar plums, sweet corn, squashes, zucchini, eggplants and more! I was even more impressed as I got to know more about their farm. Matarazzo Farms, located in North Caldwell, NJ, was founded in 1921. Through 4 generations and 91 years they’ve provided quality produce from a combination of their North Caldwell and Hope, NJ farms as well as several sister farms. As family owned farms are becoming a rarity, Matarazzo Farms deserves recognition for decades of dedicated farming. Not to mention a lot of their produce is naturally grown without fertilizers or pesticides.

For $15 I got myself 2 avocados, a head of lettuce, 2 white onions, one red onion, a bag of sugar plums, 3 ears of corn, and a few tomatoes. Not bad at all!

Check them out at Newark’s PSE&G plaza every Thursday, Washington Park every Wednesday, or visit their farm stand in North Caldwell. For more info on Matarazzo Farms visit their website.

And look out for my sugar plum tartlets!

One thought on “Newark Farm Fresh

  1. Pingback: Sugar Plum Tartlets | sue-fflé

Leave a Reply

