I am Basque Stage!

As some of you may already know, I applied for the Basque Stage, Sammic Scholarship to live and work in the Basque region of Spain at three Michelin Star restaurant Martin Berasategui. I was among 30 of 170 candidates who were chosen for the second stage of competition in which we had to submit a video, recipe post, resume, and essay. At stake: the Top Chef scholarship, a 6 month, all expense paid stage, or the Rising Star scholarship, a 3 month stage.

Earlier this week the winners were announced and guess what?

I won the Top Chef scholarship! I can’t even describe to you how I felt when I heard the news. I am beyond ecstatic, overjoyed, proud, honored, excited, nervous, eager…

This is the opportunity of a lifetime for me and I can’t adequately express how grateful I am to be given this opportunity. This experience will jump start my career and allow me to grow, not only as a chef but as a person. I will call Pais Vasco my home for 6 months, maybe longer. Who knows, I may never come back (just kidding mom). But in all seriousness, Basque country is one of the most beautiful places on earth, the culinary capital of Spain (maybe even the world) and the only place I want to be right now. Thank you to my family, friends, chef instructors, colleagues, and bosses for supporting me, teaching me, and motivating me to do my best. I couldn’t have done this without you all!

So I’m firing up my Kindle and doing my homework. The Basque Table, Pintxos, Basque Flavors and maybe a few more! Can’t go to Spain unprepared!

I’d like to congratulate Clifton Su who won the Rising Star scholarship and will be accompanying me to Spain. Awesome job! I’d also like to say to the other candidates that you’re all awesome and from what I saw of your videos and recipe posts, pretty damn talented. Keep doing what you’re doing!

I’ll leave you with a link for a blog that I absolutely love called Cannelle et Vanille by Basque ex-pat Aran Goyoaga. This particular post is all about Basque country. Absolutely beautiful!

Stay tuned for my adventures in España!

3 thoughts on “I am Basque Stage!

  1. I’m near tears.. every time I see something about it Its like I’m hearing the news for the first time again and I still can’t believe it! I am so proud of you, I can’t even express it in words!!

  2. Pingback: Ode to Sammic | sue-fflé

Leave a Reply

